Cst. Sarah Beckett Memorial Scholarship

Cst. Sarah Beckett lost her life in a tragic automobile crash in 2016.  Subsequently, the Commission created the scholarship to raise awareness of traffic safety issues and highlight the community service provided by police.  The Commission is responsible for traffic safety education programs and makes recommendations to the CRD Board to increase road safety in the region.  The Commission will award the $2000 scholarship annually to a post-secondary student based on demonstrated academic achievement, financial need, community service record, and an expressed interest in pursuing a career in law enforcement.

The winners of the third annual Cst. Sarah Beckett Memorial Scholarship are Adam Sawyer and EJ Weston.

Two scholarships were awarded in recognition of a $20,000 donation received that was raised through the Sarah Beckett Memorial Run & Walk held earlier this year. In addition to enabling the TSC to provide two awards this year, this generous donation will sustain the scholarship into the future.

Adam Sawyer is a graduate from Claremont Secondary and is pursuing his dream of becoming a police officer through the Justice Institute of BC. EJ Weston is a graduate of Royal Bay Secondary and is studying Criminal Psychology and Behaviour at Durham College. Both recipients have long histories of volunteering within their communities.

From left: Brad Aschenbrenner (Sarah’s husband), CRD Director Cliff McNeil-Smith, Adam Sawyer, EJ Winnie Weston, Elyse Patten (RCMP)
and Dr. Murray Fyfe, CRD Traffic Safety Commission Chair